Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In this technological era, many technological advancements have tremendously helped humans in various sectors, one of which is communication. While many people argue that technologies are effective in uniting people, I side with those who feel that novel technologies have made us far from one another. On the one hand, new communication technologies have many benefits, they can connect people wherever they are, no matter how far the distance is by simply making a call or even a video call on their own gadgets. Furthermore, it not only maintains our relationships with people we already know but also makes new connections with new friends from various types of social media on the internet such as Facebook, Instagram, X, and more. Moreover, it can connect jobhunters with employers too by using LinkedIn. Thus, making it easy to maintain our relationships with our loved ones, make new connections, or even search for job opportunities. On the other hand, novel communication technologies can have various drawbacks too, such as isolation. In this modern era, jobs becoming more and more varied, and do not require employees' presence in the office. Take Software Engineer for example, this profession does not require a certain place as an office, they can even do their job whenever they want without being tied to any company as a freelancer. This condition benefits them to work in various companies around the world, so they can earn money whenever and wherever they want. Moreover, technology has changed our shopping habits these days, by providing home services and delivery orders, we can easily do shopping from home and wait until it is delivered to us. As a result, many individuals prefer to stay at home and refuse to meet people in person when it comes to a certain meeting schedule and prefer to do it at home as technologies make it easier to create an online meeting. They might become dependent on their gadgets for doing any activities that can be done online which leads to isolation. In conclusion, although new communication technologies have provided us with many benefits to connect with our relatives and colleagues, this situation might lead us to a condition where we isolate ourselves from the outer world as many activities can be done remotely from home. Thus, I remain firmly convinced that technologies have set us apart from one another.