In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an endless debate between people who suggest that a huge amount of money should be spent on making railway lines to join the metropolitan areas for fast travel services. However, a section of society suggests that the condition of existing transport facilities should be improved by spending money. The following essay will be further discussed both views along with my personal opinion. To commence with, constructing the railways is very beneficial for society. Firstly, nowadays myriad people are working in urban areas as the possibility of finding jobs in rural areas is very less. Therefore, It will be helpful for working professionals to travel, and they also can reach on time. Apart from this, the first choice of tourists for travelling is the train. A recent report from Oxford University, for instance stated that a number of visitors choose the train as a mode of transportation as they find it a more convenient, safe and cheap method to cover very long distances. Hence, a few people opine that the money should be invented for making new railways for these reasons. On the other hand, many people do not agree with the above notion they suggest that it is necessary to improve the condition of existing public transport as a lot of people are living in underdeveloped are they are local commuters and for the buses are the best way to travel from one village to another. Moreover, there are numerous children who travel by bus to their schools; therefore, improving the conditions of roads helps to make the bus services fast, effective and safe for local travellers. Also, the chances of road accidents, which are increasing day by day, will also be reduced. For instance, In India more than half of the population are those who travel by bus or road and a total of 70% of deaths are caused by road accidents. Therefore, the authority should spend a large amount of money to improve the conditions of existing public transport rather than constructing new railways. In conclusion, both views are discussed in the paragraphs, and in my,opinion the authority should first invest the money to improve the old transport service and then spent money on building new transport facilities.