Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people believe that the most efficient way to curb criminal activities is to educate prisoners, I believe that prevention is far more critical. Governments should implement more stringent regulations and concentrate on educating the public to be law-abiding citizens. Some people argue that if prisoners possess professional qualifications, it will help to reduce criminal activities. This is because the qualifications allow ex-inmates to find regular employment. With a stable life, they are less likely to take risks to commit a crime and sacrifice their future. Singapore, for instance, spends millions of dollars every year to rehabilitate inmates. While the inmates are serving their sentences, they are given opportunities to learn professional skills that allow them to make a living. To be more specific, after they are released, they can become skilful plumbers and technicians. However, I believe that a better way to reduce crimes is to introduce harsher punishment for violators because it will send a deterrent effect on the mass. For example, instead of adopting a lenient attitude towards petty crimes like theft and allowing the offenders to do community service, governments should put offenders behind bars. As for more horrendous crimes like homicide and murder, the death penalty is granted. In this way, citizens will not dare to infringe the law because they are afraid of the punishment. Furthermore, schools should collaborate with the police and aim to cultivate students to be law-abiding citizens. For example, schools could invite the police to give lectures to students on juvenile delinquency, which will increase their awareness of the law and the relevant punishment. In conclusion, whereas many people believe that rehabilitating the inmates is the best approach to reduce criminal offences, I argue that more punitive action against lawbreakers and a better education system that aims to nurture law-abiding citizens are superior ways to combat crimes.