Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals released from prison for the first time, tend to return to a life of lawlessness. This is mainly a result of a lack of education and society's stereotypes towards them. Educating released offenders and the creation of hiring programs are solutions that could be implemented in order to curb this trend. Firstly, most time offenders return to a life of crime due to a low level of education. That is to say, those who turn to the activity of a criminal usually, do not finish secondary school causing them to have trouble when looking for a job thus crime is the only way they advance in life. This issue becomes more crucial after years in prison with no option to acquire skills and education appropriate to propper activity in society, causing released offenders to take up crime once again. Secondly, parolees face the public's preconceived notions about them. Many of them although paid for their crimes from a judicial point of view, the people still don't trust them, making it extremely hard to find employment keeping them in a low socioeconomic state and thus more prone to re-offend. For example, a study conducted in New York concluded that business owners are cautious when hiring parolees. There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. Firstly,to provide proper education for prisoners while incarcerated secondly, to create hiring programs for the freshly released convicts. That is to say, if the penitentiary system will provide each inmate with the option to educate is self while it is via university or trade school, this will provide them, with the skills to advance in proper society. Additionally providing prisoners with the option to reintegrate into the workforce after there first released with targeted programs may stir them away from their old ways by providing them with the possibility to provide for themself in an honest way. To illustrate, a program,hiring ex-cones to work at an ice cream shop, operating in Chicago city has shown that when employed the risk to return to an activity of crime decreased by half. In conclusion, many convicts released for the first time re-offend because they are lacking proper education and society's stereotypes about them, this could be mediated by educating them while in prison and by hiring plan.