Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damage does plastic do to the environment? what can be done by governmnets and individuals to solve this problem?

Nobody can deny the fact that plastic is an increasing menace to the planet Earth. Its use in making sacks, bottles and packaging is surging day by day. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I would describe the destruction it is causing to human beings, the environment and the possible solutions to curb this issue. Plastic has detrimental effects not only on terrestrial but also on marine life. Nowadays, most people use water in plastic vials, and many scientific research have proven that water with plastic at room temperature can cause more than 8 types of cancers. This could be the reason for an increasing number of cancer cases around the globe. Moreover, plastic bottles, bags and other plastic products thrown in rivers ultimately impact the life underseas. According to The Science Magazine, 25% of marine species are extinct due to the high amount of plastic in the seas. Therefore, plastic is extremely dangerous for all living forms. Nevertheless, there are some steps which if taken, could greatly reduce the use of plastic. First of all, the government should run public awareness campaigns on national television and social media to inform the masses regarding the drawbacks of plastic. additionally, they should try to bring legislation to either ban plastic completely or reduce its usage to a minimum. Secondly, Individuals ought to stop demanding groceries and other goods in polythene bags. They should insist on providing sacks made up of recyclable materials such as cotton or paper. This way, we can plummet the usage of plastic. To conclude, plastic is one such material that cannot be decomposed, as well as, one of the leading components that have a highly negative impact on our environment. However, the issue could be mitigated when government and people work together in reducing the usage of plastic.