Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Which one do you agree with? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Finding the best way to spend leisure time is difficult to say the least, especially after hearing about controversial studies that are being done on this topic. While some people are promoting the idea that it is quite critical to improve the mind by doing mental activities, others consider rest far more important for the mind to be healthy. I am convinced that both activities and rest are essential; however, having an appropriate balance is vital. Those who advocate doing mental activities in leisure time have some valid points. They often take the example of well-known diseases like dementia and Alzheimer's disease that could be prevented by activities like solving sudoko and learning new languages. Thus, one should say here that using the brain is required to have a healthy ageing. Moreover, improving in today's competetive world needs people having wide information about different topics. Since most of humans are working most days of a week these days, the only time remains for them to improve their knowledge is their leisure time. For instance, in most job interviews or university enterance interviews, applicants are expected to talk about topics other than the main one. Consequently, for improving, people need to use their time to improve their knowledge by reading more. Despite the above, having rest has always been viewed as a must for a brain to work properly. For a human to learn new things, their brain should not be exhusted. For example, the subjects that a person learn after eight-hour workshift not only take more time but also get forgotten easily. Therefore, to have a productive mind, the brain should rest to restore. Apart from that, the chance of making mistakes increases when brains are exhusted. So, if a person does not rest, they will make mistakes at work and might get hired. To sum up, one can say continuous brain training can bring many advantages for ones' current situations and their futures, whereas do not let minds to take time to reset can leads to serious negative consequences. I would say that people should have a balance and spend half of their leisure time doing mental activities and the other half taking rest.