Some people believe watching TV is bad for children. Others believe it is a good thing. Compare these two views. Then state which view you agree with.

Allowing children to watch TV has become a decision parents have to face. Even though it is said that this activity can help infants in their growing process, a more valid position is that such programs are negative for them because they cause psychological problems in the long term. Probably the main reason why TV may improve the development of children is that there are programs created to stimulate positively the brain. An adequate use of colours combined with music, and other tools are becoming commonly accepted as a crucial part of the child's growth. Channels such as Discovery Kids or Nat Geo have become an ally for many adults, especially when they are disoriented. These programs for example are usually accompanied by classical music which has shown to increase the intelligence of the babies. Similarly, some of them present content that can be complementary and supportive to the teachings at school. On the other hand, others might argue that problems such as addiction or non-sociable patterns are sufficient reasons to not put their children in from of a television. Everyone knows infants or youths who pass their days in bed watching television and doing no more. Some psychologists may be thinking this behaviour is a result of addictive TV programs and the relation can be in the unrealistic view of reality they are perceiving. Besides, what can be more dangerous is the effect on the sociability of the person. Back in the years, when people used to share different spaces with their friends and relatives, it was less common to see introverted, but nowadays it is not infrequent to see some of them being sit in front of a device all day and being incapable of asking for a favour to a stranger. In conclusion, it is highly possible that negative effects overcome the positive ones and, taking into consideration the importance of adequate mental health, parents should not permit their children to watch TV.