Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that social media can have adverse ramifications on the public such as mental illnesses. Although social platforms provide people with a lot of advantages, I firmly believe that they have an extreme influence on a person and the community. This essay will not only explain social media's impact on people but also my point of view will be elaborated in the conclusion. Initiating with the points supporting the first school of thought. To begin with, social websites in particular TikTok and Twitter alter the physical health of the people as well as their mental health. This can cause dysthymia or burnout. As a result, it has been seen that it may decline people's work progress. As an illustration, a recent study held at Standford University has shown that 37% of the citizens in the USA have depression and anxiety due to the excessive use of Instagram. Therefore, it has negative impacts on employees' work and creativity. Furthermore, the use of social media, in this period of cutting-edge technology, is increasing day by day. This increases the risk of exposure to bad content including porn. Such exposure could distract students from their studies and affect their grades. Moreover, websites like darkweb can lead to cyberbullying. For instance, a recent study run by an Oxford professor found that cyberbullying has increased by 24% in the UK because of social websites. Hence, it has elevated the rate of suicide. In conclusion, according to my perspective, social sites have a lot of side effects which can not be neglected. In order to tackle this, people need to limit the use of social media and the government should ban websites that encourage bullying.