Many people think that the government should spend money to explore outer space, while others believe that it is a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The opinion is divided as to whether the state’s budget allocation on space exploration is conducive or money-wasting. In this essay, I will discuss both views from which my opinion about this investment shall be formed. Many of the following benefits support government spending on space research. First of all, many of the technologies we take for granted today were originally thanks to space research. Take satellite technology, for example, we depend on it for broadcasting and weather forecasting. Without satellites, we would not be able to follow global events as they happen, or give the general population any warning of approaching storms. Space research has also led to the development of new lightweight materials that offer us heat protection and enable food preservation. Therefore, the challenge of sending human beings into space has often driven the development of new technologies that benefit our everyday lives. Second, we cannot foresee the distant future, so we ought to develop the capacity to escape from the earth. Gradually, we are learning how humans can survive for long periods in space and even travel to other planets in the future.. It can be understood as to why others argue that space exploration is a waste of financial resources. It is no doubt true that the expenses for facility construction are prohibitively high and so is the expenditure for an astronaut. Considering this, for most Third World countries where poverty remains a pressing concern, space exploration is virtually impossible. For example, in African countries, a great number of individuals are struggling to sustain their lives, and due to chronic shortages of food and shelter, many disadvantaged and underprivileged children have been inflicted with many obstacles, even dying because of starving. Should space exploration be invested in, the needy will certainly confront insurmountable difficulties, arising unexpected conflict between the state and its denizens. As a consequence, the investment will cause social unrest and stagnate the country’s progress. In conclusion, while space exploration is highly considered useful in rich nations thanks to its distinctive benefits, it is neither possible nor practical for poor nations to implement such research. Therefore, my personal view would be that it should be dependent on the financial conditions of each nation.