Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this and how can the problem be managed

Obesity among kids is a big problem worldwide. It can be observed a variety of factors that lead to this global issue from an unbalanced diet to a lack of physical activities. In this essay, I will outline the main causes and suggest some possible solutions that can remedy or improve the health of the young. One of the possible causes can be the quality of the food that our children are consuming, due to the high prices of vegetables and fruits and the cheap that processed food is, it is understandable that many households cannot afford to pay for a balanced diet. It is proven that having a rich diet in nutrients and proteins can reduce considerably the risk of suffering from overweight and other diseases. For instance, in developed countries where the population has access to high incomes that allows them to buy quality products, is less frequently this problem, people tend to be fit and less obese. I believe that one effective solution could be that governments and organisations give financial support to schools with the objective to implement a plan that teaches families and children about nutritive meals that can be prepared at home with little money. The second most important factor is the lack of physical activities, it is well known that is needed more than just a good diet to keep people healthy. Nowadays during the Digital Era, and the use of technological development, people spend most of their spare time in front of a screen rather than working out. Consequently, the lifestyle of kids has become more sedentary. For example, whereas in the past they used to play outside burning a lot of calories during their games, now they prefer staying at home with phones and computers. I consider that the key solution to this eating disorder would be if parents encourage their children to regularly practice sports, there is no one better than the family to control what activities should be prioritized. In conclusion, over the last decade the number of obese children has increased dramatically around the world. I believe families and organisations should be responsible for improving healthy eating habits and creating initiatives orientated to tackle the disease.