It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is a common belief in my country: "spare the rod, spoil the child". Hence, the majority of parents have considered that children only have a good upbringing if they are punished appropriately. Personally, I am convinced by the idea for some reasons, however, there are some ways of teaching them to behave properly. On the one hand, it is undeniable that children are regarded as a pure page that is easily affected by their surroundings. They seem to have no ability to distinguish between the bad and the good so they tend to do what they like or resist what they do not like. In reality, some are even willing to lie down in front of the toy shop if their mother denies buying them car toys or puzzles. If their wishes are made come true, they might interpret that these bad manners are good to get what they want to own. Consequently, bad behaviours are established resulting in they will not following any educational programs at school or rules in society and they will not succeed and even harm everyone around them. On the other hand, according to medical experts, offspring should be educated at an early age. For instance, toddlers usually love sucking their thumb like a funny game which is considered bad for their teeth and digestive tract. In this case, adults should illustrate and make them understand that action is not accepted. Gradually, they will get rid of that bad behaviour, and when they stop that habit, parents should cheer them up by offering a small gift. Light punishments might be applied when teenagers are still consistent with what they have been asked to stop. For example, educators can prevent them from watching their favourite cartoon programs or cut down on their allowance or punish them by giving them more household chores. However, if punishment is not set improperly, it will upset them. Mature adults should consider thoroughly which cases students should be punished or rewarded. In short, teaching a child is regarded as constructing a tall house. Helping them differentiate soonly right or wrong manners can provide them with a basic foundation to develop their future life. Therefore, utilizing appropriate means of punishment for particular situations does have positive effects on their success.