Most Countries allow 18 year olds to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow it at this age, while others think that the age to start driving should be at least 25. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a huge debate on whether when is an appropriate age for driving, while many support the generalized legal age of 18, some argue that it needs to be increased to at least 25. In my personal view, I support the former opinion to be recognized as the legal driving age, and I would discuss both viewpoints as follows. To begin, people at younger ages definitely are less mature psychologically, which affects their decision-making. For example, as driving requires interactions with surroundings, drivers need to analyze circumstances, predict future outcomes, and finally decide on the action. With a lack of calmness and good analytical skills, the youngsters cannot respond as efficiently as the adults, which may lead to accidents or casualties, but the probability of bad decisions is not excruciatingly high. So, the driving age of 18 is not entirely irrational. On the other hand, the benefit of starting driving early is the better ability to learn new skills. With the ongoing growth in both physical and mental, teenagers are better at practising physical skills. As driving needs eye-hand correspondence, practising driving early can be beneficial for developing neurons and muscles, which results in better control of the vehicles. Moreover, driving frequently creates motor memory in the brain, so starting early helps people drive until later decades of life. Hence, there are biological advantages to driving early, which maturity cannot substitute for. In conclusion, the majority favoured the age of 18 for driving has both drawbacks and benefits, as driving requires good decision-making and a cool temperament, while human tends to learn new things well in the early stage of life. Therefore, I support the age of 18 to start driving, as it provides better consequences in the long term.