Some people think that Olympic games are exciting events that bring other nations together. Others say Olympics is a waste of money and the money could be better spent on other things. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A great part of society believes that the Olympic Games improve the bonds between countries, while others, on the contrary, consider that all the efforts should be put into other topics. From my perspective, the event is an excellent opportunity to celebrate but also to realize that there are other situations that are more important. On the one hand, athletes from all over the world wait for their moment to shine and to become the best in their discipline with the company of their family and friends; in addition, sports fans love spending hours watching the different exhibits. For example, Simone Biles, from the United States, is an extraordinary gymnast who has won several Olympic Games medals, and independently of her gender or origins, society gets excited about it and celebrates her triumph. I believe that this should not only happen once in four years but every day, congratulating every little win a person achieves. On the other hand, events like the Olympic Games require absurd amounts of money due to stadium refurbishment, and people working, among others. For instance, in the last event in Paris, millions of euros were destined to clean the Sena River as some of the swimming races took place there. However, people were disappointed and angry with the authorities because the river had to be clean always not for just one event, as that was just to give a great impression. The citizens claimed that all that money could have been used to improve other areas in the city. The way I see it is that resources should be used for real issues. To summarize, most of society is happy and celebrates sports, whereas people continue struggling and suffering different problems that could be solved by using money more wisely.