Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Every parent has their own way of parenting their children, and some of them use the method that provides everything their child wants, including spoiling with materialistic matters. Even though this approach might work, I am convinced that this is not a good way of parenting because it makes children dependent and less responsible for their life. First of all, pandering to every child's need will result in children becoming very demanding. They will always rely on their parents, and would never be capable of living on their own feet. For instance, many gen Z today are often found to be spoiled kids as their parents always provide them with everything they asked for. Subsequently, this has resulted in their personality which quite often is depending on their parents, thus they are hardly responsible for their studies, career and life in general. Therefore, I am certain that buying things for children and following all their wishes are not the best parenting approach to go for. Another impact will be the fact that children are less likely responsible for their life. This means, that when they work, they will not take their job seriously and take it for granted. At the same time, when parents over-supported the children, eventually, they become very unreliable in doing their work or even in relationships with others. As an example, my colleague who was raised in a very rich and full of abundance family, occasionally struggle in handling some difficult tasks at work, instead of paying someone else to do it for her. Thus, this upbringing will make them difficult to gain trust and build fruitful relations with others. In conclusion, although, some parents can show their love language by buying things and fulfilling all the children's desires, I am strongly certain that this is not a good parenting style, as it will make children become dependent and less responsible for their life.