If an individual acts in an anti-social way, such as committing the crime, who is to be blamed, society or the individual? what are the causes behind such behaviour? who should be responsible for this?

Knowledge of right and wrong makes it easy for every individual to choose what path to trade on. The society should take share in the blame but a person who commits crime should take the major blame. Although there are various factors leading to crime which ranges from person-influenced to society -induced, the individuals involved should face the consequences for their actions. To start with, many factors can enforce crime and other anti-social behaviours among a population. This includes poverty, unemployment, lack of education and environmental influence. Though some of these behaviours are inherent in many people, external influence takes precedence over the inherited traits. According to a global research, there is a surgence surge in crime rate in poor countries than in developed countries. Again, Nigeria in the last review on the recent increase in fraudulence activities and abduction has attributed it to recession within the country. However, the people involved in an anti-social act should be responsible for their decisions and actions. Law serves as a major guidiance to rights and wrongs and hence every act by an individual who has mental capacity and not carried out as self-defense should be considered deliberate and hence should face the law. Placing the blame on the society despite their obvious contribution to an increase in crime rate would encourage further crime in the society. For instance, a son to a popular artist in Cameroon during an interview after serving his time in prison told the public that his bad actions as a teenager was encouraged since he was pardoned after killing a man. Such instinct without setting the offender right can become a normal in the person. In conclusion, both the society and an individual should be blamed but majorly the offender. Both also contributes to the causes of crimes, but the individual should face the consequences as this will help reduce the case of recidivism.