Statement: Some people prefer to develop a large social circle, whereas others prefer to have a few close relationships. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Choosing how many friends to have might be a difficult decision everybody faces. Having large social circles is an issue which brings benefits such as getting access to more opportunities, as well as drawbacks including the lack of confidence within. The main advantage of belonging to big groups is the increase in chances like job offers and all kinds of information. As more people are known through the circle, the odds of finding someone who could be interested in the abilities of an individual increase. There could be, for example, the case where you are an English teacher and you get to a school director who is looking for a replacement. Apart from that, diversifying the social links is equally important for human development. In the way of hanging out with many others, an individual has been listening to different views of the world, different life’s living experiences, among other teachings. On the other hand, the main advantage of belonging to circles with few members and close relationships is the high levels of confidence members might develop with each other. Depending on what is important, for instance, some can prefer to be part of groups where they feel secure about what is said or done within the circle. Usually, this will be more important if one is older as friendships tend to last longer. This can apply also to anyone who in the past has come through a bad situation and now is trying to be around people who can give them support. In conclusion, expanding the social spaces where socializing is possible allows to find windows of opportunities which could be hard to find; however, maintaining close relationships can enforce the confidence in a more desirable form within the group. In my opinion, the latter option is better since finding trustworthy friends is far better than having opportunities in life since this type of relationship strengthens you as a person.