Cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Modern lifestyle has drastically changed recently. Undoubtedly, the similarity in the way of living among people of different countries has increased. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and provide evidence as to why it is a negative trend. Firstly, technological advancements have encouraged this globalization. People, by means of digital gadgets like television, mobiles and computers acquire knowledge of the things happening around the world and they usually try to copy the latest trend. For example, a new clothing brand conducts its show in Paris fashion week will be available on websites within a few days and everyone around the globe will be eager to try these same clothes. Secondly, youngsters today are not adamant about preserving their ancestral values. Because of this, the old values and traditions are fading gradually from society. It is evident that this trend is bringing lots of negativity. As more and more people follow the same style the importance of individuality is lost. For instance, India is a nation filled with various customs, if the citizens start to follow western methods, the beauty of its diversity will be lost. Moreover, if everyone is selecting the same attire and has the same course of living then life will become boring. Therefore, it is essential to maintain nuances in the way of dwelling. In conclusion, it is true to say that cultures across the international borders are merging and the world is becoming much alike everywhere. In my opinion, this is a major drawback as it may cost the versatility and rich legacies of the regions.