Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is one of the essential parts of every culture. There is a popular belief that it helps to unite people of different generations, ethnicity and age. Although music can be useful in strengthening social ties, I assume that nowadays music become a thing of the taste. On the one hand, music undeniably plays a big role in improving social interaction, since all the events are accompanied by it. In most the, cultures there are pretty similar tunes for particular celebration, such as weddings, birthdays and even funerals. Moreover, in recent years globalisation has also influenced the music industry and show business. Having online platforms, such as Spotify, Deezer, Netflix and others, in access provides people from all over the globe with the same listening and watching experience. This makes it easier for individuals from different backgrounds to engage in society and make acquaintances and friends without any struggles. On the other hand, music is one of the intimate and truly personal things that one can enjoy. Music is often associated with important events of one's life and brings with itself a cosy feeling of nostalgia, which is not actually shared with most of the people around. That is why sometimes parents do not share the music taste of their children and vice versa. In addition, most of the music platforms are trying to learn the music preferences of the listeners and suggest songs that will be definitely enjoyed. This is the main factor why music has become such individualized nowadays. In conclusion, music still is the factor that brings people together, but nowadays it has a tendency to be more personal.