Immigration has an important impact on society. What are the reasons for people to immigrate and what are the consequences?

It's indubitable that immigration has existed in the history of human beings. There are complex factors for individuals who plan to immigrate to other countries. A number of immigrants gradually have a positive impact on society and lead to potential social risks as well. In the following paragraphs, I am going to elaborate on the causes and influence of immigration. Humankind immigrates for several reasons, which can be classified as pull factors and push factors. In terms of the former ones, people usually put emphasis on better economic development in well-developed countries, abundant job opportunities or even marriage. Instead, the latter reasons include warfare, poor environmental surroundings, high crime rates, and so on. By and large, individuals immigrating to other places not only yearn for decent living conditions to further improve their lives but also acquire nationality to gain self-identification. Immigrants play a pivotal role in society. Without them, we possibly cannot enjoy exotic cuisine and experience the diversified cultures they have brought from their original country. Additionally, they can devote their capability to help boost the national economy; for example, foreign professionals working in high technological companies, alien nursing workers caring for older or migrant workers employed on ocean fishing vessels. However, some criminal problems may result from immigrants so any government should set up a sound policy to prevent potential danger. In other words, we need to help immigrants to assimilate into society to be in harmony with nationals. With the increasing number of immigrants based on any causes to leave out their original land, they have positively influenced our society and negatively disrupted social order. To sum up, we should learn to respect immigrants from various countries and help them integrate into society.