Some people believe that building cities vertically, with tall towers, is better than building cities horizontally. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

I believe that there is a group of people who would prefer the upward expansion of the city. In my viewpoint, I agree with this statement and this essay shall discuss both sides of the argument. On the one hand, upward expansion of a city can help the developers use less precious land, while it also can protect the natural environment. I believe that planners have no reasons to destroy wildlife habitats that help preserve the ecosystems and its natural resources. This can provide enough space to where public parks could be constructed and used. Which can help meet people’s demand for fresh air and outdoor physical activity. For instance, in my country of Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City ’s council members have developed Thủ Thiêm city with has many tall buildings and public parks that ensure a clean and a clear environment of all living things. On the other hand, the outward expansion of cities can create a city-sprawl, which may even cause more concern. Such as, transportation has become more and more challenging and congested. During peak times there are now more vehicles on the roads, which causes traffic jams and pollution. This can also result in a hazardous air quality, which advises the citizens that they should not even go out. All in all, the city planners must consider these two key factors, preservation of the ecosystem and traffic jams to avoid an outward expansion. Developers should balance these benefits among its stakeholders in society before making any city expansion decisions.