Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the past decades, countries all over the world have become more connected each other in terms of technology advancement. People have started calling themselves as world citizens, regardless of where they are born, and they believe having patriotism is heading to problems. However, there are some who have different views about it. Some people believe that it brings positive effects, while others argue that it might have more disadvantages than benefits. Therefore, the arguments on both sides of this controversial issue will be discussed in the following paragraphs in turn, and finally, my opinion will be given. On the one hand, some opponents are quick to point out that there are various reasons to consider getting advantages of patriotism. Before all else, it drives a good trend for local businesses and products, which are essentially needed to be supported, because most people tend to have foreign famous brands rather than local ones. Moreover, governments can get more funding as well if their citizens are willing to pay their taxes. For example, Singapore, one of the most developed countries in the world, have a policy for their citizens such as pension system over age 60 for any type of employee, as long as they have paid their tax. On the other hand, other proponents have also expressed an equal view that there are several drawbacks of this issue. First of all, it might be seen as an old-fashioned conservative notion for this technology age. For instance, many people are working and migrating in other countries to persue better qualities of life. But it seems to be impossible to get this kind of chance if they deadly grab their notion without any development of life. In conclusion, although there are some arguments and different opinions, I passionately believe that the benefits of patriotism will outshine its drawbacks.