Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether economic development is the most vital goal of an administration or not. I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe that other basic functions of a government are equally relevant to economic advancement. There are authorities who argue that the benefits of prioritizing the economy of a country considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing such is the thought that when the country's economy is successful, everything else follows. It is possible to say that when the economy is stable, people have the access to a healthy and sustainable life. One good illustration of the indicated is people have stable jobs with reasonable pay and the prices of basic commodities in the market do not hurt their living standards. On the other hand, others believe that maintaining order, providing public services, and ensuring community safety needs also to be focused on. It is often debated that a government can not be tagged as progressive if one part of its function gets a failed assessment. People have the aforementioned opinion because some administrations will just cover up some points and show up only the things that merit them good. A second point is that when only the economy is progressing, those who are less fortunate will be disregarded. A particularly good example is when public services like hospitals are not being offered to low-income class citizens. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that economic progress should further mean public service, public safety and security, and all government functions progress.