In some societies, the number of crimes commited by teenagers is growing. some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether heinous crimes done by under-legal- age offenders should be penalized with the same as the adult sentence or not. In this essay, I am going to examine the aforementioned question from both points of view and then explain why I believe, it is the right decision. There are people who argue that the benefits of giving capital punishment to those who commit serious crimes regardless of age considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason is that people make age an excuse to do unacceptable things to others. It is possible to say that adults may use teenagers as an accomplice in a crime so that they will have less punishment. Another point why I support the notion is due to the fact that, nowadays, because of the generational development, children tend to think maturely enough even though they age less than legal. One good illustration of this is that teenagers join illegal drug dealers or gun-for-hire groups. On the other hand, others believe that teenagers are still young enough to be put in jail and suffer like those big grown men. It is often debated that they think minors really do not have an idea how serious things are especially if they lack parental support and guidance. People often have such opinions, therefore, putting minors in rehabilitation and therapy is the more suitable approach to make their wrongdoings right hence, they should be given a chance to realize their acts and ask for a second chance in life. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that regardless of the age of the sinner, major punishment should be given to a major crime committed in order to have justice served and a fair share of life. This is because generations today should be treated as mature individuals.