Some people believe that you should be fined if you do not recycle. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people are facing severe environmental issues occurring continually all over the world like climate change, air pollution, natural disasters,...Recycling waste is thought about as a good way to improve these environmental conditions. Some people suggest that people should be penalized if they do not recycle. In this essay, I will give some points against this statement. It is evident that the main reason for these current environmental problems is the huge consumption of fossil fuel as a major energy source. This means that people need to reduce dependence on this non-renewable source to resolve the alarming green matters. Besides, recycling just contributes partly to improving the green condition. Therefore, the obligation to recycle can not solve completely the environmental issues happening. On the other hand, another reason against recycling punishment is that most countries have not imposed any rules and regulations related to recycling materials. Besides, the majority of governments have not prepared any concrete recycling plan yet. Plenty of recycling activities has been carried out voluntarily. Consequently, it will be unacceptable to fine people who do not recycle while governments have not been willing to work on it. Apart from the reluctance of governments, the knowledge of recycling in the population is still low. People do not know how to recycle household waste. Remarkably, they are not familiar with recycling household waste. Thus, it is unreasonable to be fined if people do not aware of the importance of recycling. To sum up, recycling waste is also a vital solution for green issues. As these points mentioned in this essay, the government should encourage the public to recycle household waste voluntarily before imposing compulsory recycling policies.