Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Renewable energy such as solar power has become increasingly popular over the years. Individuals are progressively inclined to use this source of power for many reasons, some of which will be discussed in this essay as well as the benefits and drawbacks of using such. For many centuries the sun, wind and waves have proven considerably important natural sources of energy that man has harnessed for his own benefit. Although the sun has been the easiest to harness because of its radiation. For instance, before the invention of washing machines and clothes driers, man used his own hands to wash clothes and then spread them out in daylight to be dried. The reasons for accepting and adhering to solar energy could be attributed to the many advantages it poses. The sol which provides the highest form of energy is free and available to everyone. It is also pollution-free and causes no greenhouse gas emissions. In addition, people who use sunlight to power their appliances spend less money in the long term as the return on investment is high unlike paying for utility bills every month. In contrast, during periods that the sun is inevitably unavailable, take for instance, during the winter season and at night, it is impossible to use solar inverters. Furthermore, the initial cost of materials and installation of inverters is high. All these contribute to the many reasons why such renewable resources may not be utilized by the public. In conclusion, sunlight has become the most popular source of household energy for a plethora of reasons. Although as with everything in life, it also has its disadvantages.