In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is a lack of a sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved

In today´s world, where cities are becoming highly populated, it is quite frequent not to know who lives next door leading to a less cooperative city environment. This essay will explore the reasons for such an issue, and suggest ways to tackle them. There are two main factors that lead to this situation. To begin with, the current busy lifestyle, that the majority of adults face, makes it complicated to interact with other people outside colleagues, relatives and friends. As a result, less time is spent at home, which makes it rare to run into other citizens. For example, most employees work long hours and prefer to play sports near their jobs, so it is easier for them to attend. Another cause is the fact that thanks to the advancement of technology, one is able to interact less in person and more online. If before residents could meet to play cards, they can now do it online, with the public from all over the world, even without revealing their true identities. However, there are several methods to alleviate such constraints. Firstly, the government could initiate a program with several activities and encourage the participation of people living in a particular block, building or neighbourhood. These will result in gatherings of people that share similar interests. Additionally, towns could propose city meetings, to discuss common topics and values. Sharing ideas on ways to solve common problems may improve the feeling of belonging. To conclude, citizens are experiencing a lack of belonging to the place they live in since they are not aware of who is residing next to them. The root cause of this situation could be a stressful way of living or the lack of in-person interactions. To address these difficulties several kinds of gatherings could be organized.