Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals in the world want increased spending on planetary excursions, whereas others imagine that this is a waste of resources. My opinion is that world challenges such as pandemics and poverty need more attention in national budgeting. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints. The first view is that some people want governments to spend more money looking for life on other planets. This argument is supported by their aspiration to explore alternative dwellings and the belief that the Earth is becoming unsafe due to climate change and other conundrums. For example, most citizens of the US were reported by CNN in 2021 to be pushing for a policy to increase scientific excursions to Mars, to investigate the possibility of planetary immigration in the future. I do not agree with this view, because such funding can be used to make the world a better place and to address climate change. My opinion inclines to the second view, that looking for life on other planets is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on Earth. When you observe the challenges we face on earth, such as pandemics (like COVID-19), pollution, wars, natural disasters, and poverty, among others, you can see that there is no need to be spending money elsewhere. Instead, we should be finding solutions for the world's conundrums. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic brought the entire world into chaos, with high demands for social isolation and restricted mobility, which reduced the overall quality of life. Thankfully, most governments invested significantly in vaccines and research, which helped to reduce the effects of the pandemic drastically. If we had chosen to invest elsewhere, people would have continued to live in the misery of the pandemic. In conclusion, therefore, while some people support investment in space and planetary travel, I agree with the second view that sees this as a waste of public money meant for resolving the world's challenges.