Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education, should be free. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

No matter the cultural background of any individual, learning should be imperative but not provided at free cost at all levels of education. It is quite interesting to note that literacy which is the bedrock for effective and efficient communication between people and society at large is usually taken for guaranteed. However, I disagree that education should be given freely at the different stages of learning. This essay will discuss the relevance of paid education at the tertiary level as against free education from primary school to tertiary education. I agree to an extent that education should be free at the primary and secondary level but not at the tertiary level. It is a notorious fact that free literacy at the tertiary level is usually not taken seriously by the beneficiaries. For example, the majority of the students lack discipline and focus whenever, they are given the free tutoring. Whereas, they hardly attend classes, and show of total display of disrespect to their lecturers with little or no participation during lectures is very rampart. Therefore, it is important that university level should be excluded from free education. Also, the provision of learning at the university requires huge financing which is required for research development purposes, payment of salaries and maintenance of infrastructures. In Nigeria for example, where funding is dependent on government, we have discovered that such institutions lack the basic requirements/infrastructures to function as against other private universities that are privately funded with payment of exorbitant schools’ fees and grants. As a result, students should be encouraged to pay for schooling to be guaranteed quality teaching. In conclusion, free education should be limited to primary and secondary levels as against introducing it to all stages of learning. The demerits definitely outweigh the merits and as a result, it should therefore not be adopted as unified system of learning.