Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

For some reason, nowadays families seldom get together to have meals with their members. Compared with the past there are some attractions and activities that people think are more important. To support this statement, this essay will interpret my view and related reasons. In the past, family members were used to having meals together, which was a moment to share what they did and experienced throughout the day. Conversely, now the communities can use the internet or chatting applications to interact with each other anytime. For instance, young people tend to spend their life hanging out with their peers, naturally, they prefer to eat at a restaurant with them instead of their parents. On the other hand, the core value of society has transferred. The public regards that are worth putting effort into a career and the future life rather than the companion of a relationship. As a consequence, the working hours have been extended and the hours they spend at home have been shortened. Finally, they even eat more meals with their colleagues and friends. To illustrate this statement, in my country it is essential to assist to events or activities that are held by the company you work for, otherwise you will not get a promotion or bonus payments. To conclude, technology makes families can communicate easily, which means family time is not limited at the dining table. Individuals tend to spend more time exploring themselves and developing their careers. Overall, I think is a positive trend, there are still lots of forms to gather with household members.