In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a prediction that many countries will be dealing with an older population as the elderly will outnumber the younger generation through several circumstances that could lead to this situation, and I think this is going to be a very bad development in the near future. Advances in medical technology, changes in individual priorities, as well as the high cost of raising a child may be the reasons why there will be more ageing communities in the years ahead. People now live longer because medicine has developed in such a way that age is no longer a threat. This has led more people to delay plans of having a family until they can no longer produce any offspring. Values have changed as well and the ultimate goal now is not having a family, but having career success. Finally, it has become extremely expensive to have kids so most do not want to be parents if they have to both work in order to survive. I believe that this imbalance in age is going to be a bad shift. The economy will suffer because, with more senior citizens, the number of able-bodied labourers for businesses will be insufficient. Production will decline and may come to a halt, which will devastate not just companies, but other sectors of society. The workers will also be burdened by heavy taxes in order for the government to support the pension of senior citizens. As a matter of fact, if this becomes reality, society will probably collapse. In conclusion, the idea that there will be more older people than younger ones in the future is a frightening thought, but there are several things that can cause this to come true.