Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The declining public health standards is a major problem in modern society, so it's mainly believed that the construction of more sports facilities would improve this situation. However, it seems rather arbitrary to say that the buildup of amenities would be the most significant way. In modern times, sports activities are not seen as routine activities for people, who prefer driving instead of walking, working in offices that do not allow them to have much physical activity. So a sports facility in the neighbourhood for living or working would facilitate people to access the equipment, thus encouraging them to take up certain sports, moreover sports facilities are better to cover the range of all age groups,especially for children.It has been proved that the people who were cultivated in exercising habits at an early age would more possible to live a healthier life when they grow up. On the other hand, new sports facilities might not be the solution to the problem. Sports facilities usually charge money from users for maintenance reasons this could discourage a lot of people, so at the end the only people making use of these facilities would be the same people who did the exercise in the fiscal place, causing no effect what so ever, a better idea would be to increase the number of running tracks and cycling tracks in parks or providing information about the benefits of exercise, these ways would be more effective and much less costly. To conclude, it is reasonable that some people regard sports centres as a pivotal method in the amelioration of general health standards since they could have some positive effect on public health under some circumstances,, nevertheless they are unsafe financially as they do not have a great influence generally, it would be better to improve on the resources we have already, like parks ad city centres.