Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for and allow their children to do whatever they want Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Parents are increasingly adopting the Laissez-faire style of parenting. This essay will discuss the dangers of this style of parenting as children of such parents quickly become indisciplined and why I think it is not the most effective method of raising youngsters. Scientists have proven that babies are born with a primitive and instinctual nature to satisfy their wants and because of this, some of their carers do not know when to say No and caution their wards. This brings about a sense of entitlement in these young ones as they grow up thinking they can get whatever they want at all times. For instance, a study showed that rapists believe no one has the right to say no to them because they've always had what they wanted when they were young. Therefore, such wayward behaviour stems from their upbringing. The disadvantage of being permissive as a parent is evident in a recent survey conducted in three different high schools which showed that 80% of delinquent juveniles were offsprings of single mothers and single fathers who were too liberal with their young ones. Hence, these young ones' relationship with their peers is as they are treated at home, that is, going about with the thought that the world revolves around them. These juveniles also have no regard for rules because they've never had to follow one. In conclusion, mothers and fathers of certain wards believe in pleasing them under any circumstances but I believe that the hands-off approach to raising children is not the best as these children grow up to be entitled and have no respect for society.