Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

There are a large number of science-related experiments based on testing on animals in recent decades. Some critics strongly disagree with the use of animals in the lab works, while others believe that testing on animals is a crucial method for scientists to tackle medical problems. I believe that some of those are easy to justify because of fighting diseases, and there are also substitutes to animal testing that will be introduced in this essay. On the one hand, with the development of medicine, an increasing number of animal experiments are being carried out by labs in universities and many institutes because of the fact that animals such as rats, rabbits, monkeys and pigs have a similar biological body system as humans. For this reason, scientists believe they can gain a much clear and more efficient mechanism for most human chronic illnesses by doing research on animals. For example, people discovered the two main reasons for human diabetes and developed effective medicine to control the sugar level in the blood by observing rats’ debates symptoms. Therefore, a majority of breakthroughs have been made through animal experiments, which are significantly vital to fighting diseases. On the other hand, many criticisms have been generated due to the suffering of animals in testing. Furthermore, there are many drugs that have been developed successfully without killing lives. For instance, loads of experimental data can be accessed by scientists through different journals and research papers, instead of by killing loads of animals. Besides, a large number of similar lab projects can be found online, which means people do not need to carry out the same process for a second time. By doing this, many lives can be saved. Therefore, we should set up a series of methods to restrict unnecessary testing on animals. In conclusion, for some people, the testing of medicine on animals is entirely justified and appropriate while the others disagree. I believe that necessary experimentation on animals can be reasonable, however, largely basic or duplicate lab works, which can be done by using alternative resources and analyzing data online effectively, should be strictly controlled or even prohibited by using animals.