In many countries traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think this is? What can parents and schools do to keep traditional customs alive

Traditional customs are an integral part of everyone's lives. Therefore, there has been an ongoing debate among people about whether we are losing our rituals or not and how schools and families can help children to keep them alive. This essay will take both the points into consideration and will state the relevant reasons for the same. On one hand, it is inevitable to say that a child's education starts from home itself. If parents focus more on inculcating their offspring with religious values, they will not only make them equipped with that knowledge but also help them learn their culture. For Example, in the Muslim community from a mere small age children start keeping Ramzan fast and they follow each and every custom thoroughly because they have been doing all this since their childhood. This helps to enhance a sense of responsibility among them not only for their religion but also they will learn how to carry forward their values to the future generation. On the other hand, schools also play a pivotal role in shaping a child's future. Hence, they should add certain books to their curriculum which preach their respective traditions. For instance, in Dubai, it is compulsory for each and every student irrespective of their religion to learn Arabic and they focus on the rituals they follow. Furthermore, it would be great if educational institutions celebrate all festivals and showcase the significance of that occasion so that kids will be able to learn the importance of having customs in our life. To sum up, it is clear that with the advent of western culture, people have lost interest in their own customs, but it is our duty to regain that interest and this could only be achieved if our institutions and parents work hard to teach their children the value of customs in our life.