In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Nowadays, there is a growing trend to have a year off after school and before applying to university. After graduation, individuals will have an opportunity to travel, understand their desires and aims, and have time for excellent preparation for exams. However this free year might cause laziness, forgetting material and lack of motivation. As recent studies have found, one of the best motivations for youngsters is a fear of not getting into university. For instance, there are some bloggers, who took a year off, and after it, they understood, that it was not that necessary for them and application would be too complicated. Moreover, for the majority of the population knowledge maintaining is really difficult. After a relaxing year, individuals have to study a lot more to recall their knowledge. Furthermore, endurance and persistence will be worse does to a long break without brain exercise. On the other hand, some argue that admission is much easier after a year off. This gap provides a great chance for travelling around the world, understanding aims for life, defining a profession for the future and for better preparation for entrance exams. For example, there are many more students, who are admitted on a budget after a break. This trend results in a correctly chosen job, a saturated experience and a psychologically healthy person with excellent-placed goals. In conclusion, this is a topic that provokes much debate but I firmly believe that a year off is a great opportunity for finding oneself, achieving correct dreams and reaching the necessary marks on exams due to a great preparation. However, it might lead to a lack of motivation and a loss of early-obtained knowledge. If an individual correctly distributes acquired time, he will achieve better results and get more experience.