Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Society, without any doubt, is divided into two groups as per the distinct mindsets of different people. It is often argued that commercials inspire people to purchase unnecessary things, whilst others think that advertisements promote things that can enhance our lifestyle. I strongly agree with the latter notion. To begin with, many people believe that advertisements play a crucial role in upgrading their lives. This is because the government can raise awareness about sensitive topics such as mental health. This can help people to focus not only on their physical health but also on their mental health. As an illustration, The New York Times reported in March 2016 that dysthymia patients decreased by 28% in the UK since the Ministry of Health has started advertising about how depression can have adverse ramifications on peoples' life. Moreover, the public can be aware of ongoing offers and deals through commercials. This may help them to save a lot of money and choose the best option from the wide range of options to choose. These can provide people with discounts on branded items. For instance, the USA Black-Friday sale and Christmas offers has come up with many offers for their customers so that people with low budget can purchase good things to improve their surroundings. In conclusion, according to my perspective, although advertisements can persuade people to buy unwanted products, I firmly believe that this has a multitude of benefits on mankind. Therefore, there should be more advertisements to promote things which can make peoples' life better.