There is an increasing trend of old people living longer in many countries around the world. Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on the population as a whole?

The population is ageing and this has raised the awareness of many authorities about a potential danger to their societies. Undoubtedly the number of elders who live longer has been growing in all regions. Although this could be a good sign of improved healthcare, society is suffering from its consequences. Prolonged life expectancy means that a successful healthcare system is in place, which is a sign of development. Medical advancements have reduced the number of diseases that are the main causes of death. For instance, today many new drugs and therapies are available to treat cancer. Besides, financial and social security have resulted in better mental health, so there will be fewer mental disorders. Such as phycological disorders that can reduce the life expectancy. However, there are some negative impacts on society if there will be large number of elders living in a country. This means there will be scarce availability of workforce, because, it is the young generation that accounts for the majority of workers, and not the elderly. Likewise, Europe which has most of its population allocated to elderly has been employing youngsters from other countries. In addition, old people are fragile and usually need to be taken care of by youngsters. For example, a big demand for nurses will be required to care of them. In conclusion, a huge number of old people is a sign of medical advancements, however, it means that the country is dealing with a lack of workforce. In my opinion, the states' power must take action to prevent this from happening else it will cause irreversible changes to society. Many countries will be facing such situation in the near future, so they must act now.