Tourism is an ever growing industry. What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

Recently there has been a trend of increased demand for some people wanting to travel domestically and internationally. I believe that the tourism industry is a positive for society because it has created many benefits for both the private and the public sectors. This is due to the fact that hospitality services are not only great sources of employment, but they also provide many people with memorable cultural experiences. Firstly, the industry has become one of the key factors in helping support the local and even national economies. As it stimulates enormous investment in infrastructure to meet tourists’ demand, including food and beverage. Besides, it is known to provide direct and indirect services such as tour guides, housekeepers, waitresses and chefs. Therefore, the unemployment rate should be relatively low in areas that are tourism destinations. Secondly, the field can create a real national pride in communities by showing others around the world the wonderful values that their home has to offer. This is important as locals in the community have the pride to showcase their traditional culture. Local festivals and cultural events are places where these identities have been preserved for generations. For instance, the Hue Festival where international tourists can enjoy the Ao dai shows which are one of the main parts of the events. The Vietnamese girls are now proud of the traditional Ao Dai, which is often worn on special occasions Tet Holidays for example. In conclusion, there is no doubt that there is an increasing trend within the travel industry. This spinoff provides a positive relationship within infrastructure investment in providing more job opportunities and the traveller's experience of traditional culture.