The use of phones,tablets, and other devices while walking in public places has been a concern for many commentstors. What hazards can arise if people are guided by such devices when walking down the street? How could these problems can be solved?

In the recent times, it is not uncommon to see people walking in crowded places using gadgets. This essay discusses the issue this causes and suggests measures by which the situation can be tackled. The main problem of distracted walking is that it leads to cognitive impairment. To elaborate, due to distraction while walking it leads to inattention blindness which may lead to lIfe - threating treating injuries while crossing roads. As a result, sometimes people will bump each other, fall and have head on collision with vehicles. To illustrate, a research conducted by the Ohio State Univerisity concluded that more than half of the patient who visits the emergency centres with head injuries are related to the usage of mobile phones while crossing the road. In addition, using gadgets while walking allures the criminals to commit crime such as thefts. This is because people who use phones and tablets while waking do not pay attention to surroundings. Therefore, distracted walking may lead to number of detrimental effects. Nevertheless, this issue can be addressed by exercising self-control. This is because hazards due to distracted walking can be reduced significantly by taking control on habits. It is recommended that while walking individuals should ensure not to use the gadgets and put them inside the bag away from their reach. Alongside, people can change the mobile settings of notifications to airplane mode. Consequently, it will not distract them while crossing the roads and walking in public areas. For instance, in ohio state, lawmakers have enforced the law that it is prohibited to use gadgets while walking in public which has drastically reduced the number of accidents. In conclusion, an increasing number of individuals using gadgets in public areas resulting in accidental injuries and getting attention of criminals. By changing our habits of using gadgets while walking, this issue can be mitigated.