Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, governments all over the world started to put more effort on preventive measures than curative one. I completely agree with these directives as it saves lives and costs less. Prophylaxis measures save more lives than curative measures. This means that if governments focused on raising awareness of the public and added some education subjects to the students’ curriculum at schools about the health hazards of drinking, smoking, or eating fast food, there would be a significant decrease in death rates. For example, In Canada, there was a significant decrease in the death rate of obesity related comorbidities after adding this kind of subject in students’ curriculum. Therefore, it is clear that prevention of diseases is much more beneficial than curative methods. Moreover, the research to create a new medication to fight a certain disease costs too much money and the end results may be unsatisfactory. Recently, due to covid19 pandemic, most medical centers all over the world started their research in all directions to design a vaccine or an effective treatment, but at the end vaccine won because it is comparatively cheap and the results was great.Even if the patient who got the vaccine got infected, their symptoms were usually mild and did not need admission. As a result of this, COVID19 vaccine was not only cheaper, but also decreased the need for hospitalization, and accordingly, decreased the financial burden on the health system. Thus, preventive measures are more beneficial than curative methods. In conclusion, the merits of prophylaxis measures are much more important than curative ways as prophylaxis measures save more lives and cost less. It is recommended that all governments should concentrate on education and create vaccines rather than spending a huge amount of money on research to create a new medication.