Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

There are two options available when it comes to choosing the best mode of transportation ranging from public to private transportation. While a number of people argue that it is essential for the government to construct and fund more roads, others believe that building highways is more significant to the city's development. I personally disagree with funding money for them and the reasons for this would be elaborated on in this essay. Easy access to roads would provide platforms for people to use private cars or motorcycles more often than before and if not handled well, this would immediately disturb the public well-being. For instance, more than 89% of people who live in Jakarta are using either private cars or motorcycles to get to their destinations or travel compared to the small proportion of people who utilize public transport like Trans Jakarta or electric trains. This happens because of the wide platforms being provided for people to travel in any places without restriction or high taxes and as a result, pollution occurs, as proven by the increasing number of polluted air in Jakarta with nearly 65% of pollution spread around the city. Pollution has proven to be one of the contributing causes of lung disease, cancer, and chemical poisoning. While it is true that toll road distribution might make it easier for people to reach places, investing more in this is ineffective and does not worth its consequences. Instead, investing money to improve public transportation may lead people to progressively limit the use of cars and thus, air pollution is reduced. Furthermore, building motorways confiscate a large number of forest lands. With trees being cut down and lands being transformed into paved roads, environmental disasters such as floods and landslides are only the short-term dangerous risks that come with it. For instance, highway construction in the Kalimantan region caused fatalities due to floods and landslides that occurred a couple of months after the toll roads were constructed. While it is true that the government could build dams near the residential houses, the effects could only be witnessed for a long period of time and before it happens, people would be affected by the damage. In fact, public transportation could be built underground so that it would be safer both for the environment and the people that live near it. It is true that productivity and mobility would be a lot easier with thoroughfares. However, this could also be done by providing sufficient public conveyance like subway stations to make sure that people arrive at their destinations on time. In summary, investing in road construction would cause more harm than benefits as it would interfere with public well-being and demolish the environment. Hence, it would be prudent to add public transport to cities and increase the price of taxes to minimize the use of private transportation.