You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems- To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that living abroad and speaking another language can make life extremely difficult. By contrast, in my opinion, people can adapt to a new country and learn a new language easily and quickly. The main reason why I think that living abroad isn't as difficult as some people believe is that we can learn a new language before we go to another nation. For instance, I studied and lived in France for three years and a half. Before leaving for France, I had studied French for one year and mastered the vocabulary in daily life and conversations. So I didn’t have too many problems caused by the French. Furthermore, English is one of the official languages in a lot of countries. Therefore, even though people can’t speak the native of the state, they can also communicate in English. Another reason why foreign experiences aren’t so hard is that people can make new friends who have the same situation. They can share their problems and solutions with each other, which can also relieve their loneliness. However, separating from family and friends, and living independently in a new country can give us some sort of inconvenience. We need to learn a new language, build different relationships, and adapt to the lifestyle of the new nation. People have to put their effort into overcoming these difficulties. In conclusion, I somewhat disagree that there are many serious social and practical problems in foreign lives. This is because we can learn a new language or speak English, and finding people who have the same condition can also help us a lot.