In the past, people used to travel to see the differences from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that the advantages of these similarities outweigh the disadvantages?

Global tourism upsurged in the last two decades and people rushed to visit new exotic places in different countries to appreciate and enjoy their unique culture, architecture and sceneries. However, some people argue that these days, tourist destinations, in most parts of the world are becoming somewhat similar while compromising their unique cultural and structural features. In my opinion, there are two main reasons behind this: globalisation and technological advancements and I believe it has more drawbacks than benefits. Firstly, there has been a recent upsurge in global tourism due to cheap flights and people have started frequently visiting places they have never been to, which has resulted in many commonalities between different cultures and architectures. As a result, most of the constructions are similar worldwide whether it is Switzerland, Dubai, Australia, or India as the construction materials are the same and architects can travel globally. Chandigarh, for instance, is a small modern Indian city designed by the most popular Swiss architect, Le Corbusier, but now you can see similar types of architectural buildings and his style of city planning being copied all over the world. Secondly, due to technological advancements, the popularity of some products has become universal. For example, fashion these days is copied worldwide due to easy internet access, the younger generation in Vietnam is following and wearing what you would see on Paris catwalks and losing their unique cultural identity. Thus, Globalisation and technological advancements have a huge role in bringing out the similarities we see these days while travelling to different parts of the world. In my opinion, this has more drawbacks than positives as the world is becoming too similar losing its uniqueness, and travel has become less lucrative in terms of tourism. Additionally, these similarities between tourist destinations will have long-term negative effects as countries will eventually lose their unique culture and landscapes, which were meant to be passed from one generation to the other. For example, MacDonalds, KFC etc are the United States fast food joints which can now be found in Vietnam, India, and Japan. Hence, if a tourist is travelling to try out and enjoy local unique culture, scenery or cuisines, they do not see many differences as they can find the similar food as their home country in foreign lands. In conclusion, it is clear that globalisation and technological advancements are responsible for the global similarities and it has more drawbacks than benefits as different parts of the world are losing their uniqueness when it comes to their culture and architecture.