Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

A normal human’s body has 206 bones in different sizes and shapes holding the other organs and tissues together. Intrinsically, bones can repair themselves during a specific time period[1]. However, in some cases due to bone diseases such as osteoporosis, osteomyelitis, malignant tumors, or traumatic accidents, the process of healing may not occur or gets lengthy[2]. One of the most common bone diseases that can cause severe bone loss and infections is bone cancer. Despite the development of medical sciences, cancer is still a threatening health issue. Surgery, chemotherapy, and radiotherapy are common methods for treating cancer [3]. These treatments have some drawbacks that could be harmful and endanger healthy tissues and cells; for example, weakening the immune system of a patient’s body because of the exceeding amount of drug or undesirable release of drug in chemotherapy and causing large bone defects after removing tumors in surgery[3]. Besides, completely removing the tumor may not occur, subsequently, residual cancer cells surrounding the healthy tissues trigger tumor recurrence1. In recent years, investigations have shown that heat can kill human body cells including cancer cells which are more sensitive to heat than healthy cells [4]. Utilizing heat to eliminate or diminish tumors is called hyperthermia treatment. Commonly, there are several approaches to generate heat within the body such as using magnetic particles [4]. There is another approach to eradicate tumors by heat which is done by photothermal phenomenon that is rooted in the interaction of the material with light, so it depends on the optical properties of the material[5]. Photothermal therapy (PTT) has certain advantages over other methods, such as high selectivity, minimal invasiveness, and no systemic effects[6]. These privileges have turned PTT to an attractive means of tackling cancer, therefore, many researchers have studied on certain materials with the ability of converting light into heat. Metallic particles with diverse shapes, carbon-based nanoparticles, semiconductors, and organic compounds are such substances[5]. In the last decade, many researchers have spent their effort to obtain a series of material that not only do have the ability to remove tumors through PTT but also possess different biological properties in order to reduce risks of their use. A group of glasses called ‘bioglass’ which were first introduced by L. Hench in the 1970s [7], are known for their intrinsic ability of bonding with bone through forming a hydroxyapatite-like layer on their surface when exposing to biological fluids. This means bioactive glasses can regenerate the damaged or lost tissue, alongside their marvelous optical features. To reap the benefits of biological and optical properties of these distinguished glasses simultaneously, numerous studies have been conducted. In one of these, Wang et al. introduced a bismuth-doped phosphosilicate glass that could invert the growth of a type of rat osteocraoma cells through photothermal therapy and were also able to regenerate the damaged bone tissue2. In another research, a sol-gel bioactive glass containing 5%molar manganese were loaded with chlorin e6 to combine photodynamic and photothermal therapies by irradiating the sample with 660nm and 808nm laser, respectively, for treatment of tumorous bone defects3. Ironically, manganese is a trace element that has proven to be a great agent in the growth of hard tissues by promoting osteogenic reactions and greatly affecting bone regeneration due to increasing osteoblast response and cell adhesion and proliferation11-16. In this regard, bioactive glasses have been determined as promising agents for delivering and sustained release of therapeutic ions in the body fluids microenvironment due to their biodegradability.