Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it has been an issue about whether foreigners who can't speak the local language tend to struggle not only in social life but also in practical activities. Regarding this matter, I partially agree with the statement for some reasons and this essay will explain both types of problem. Miscommunication is the main reason behind social disputes, occurring because of the language barrier. As the example, the usage of idioms is not so common for people with limited skills which potentially cause misinterpretation. If the situation happens many times, it will impact to people's willingness to have a conversation with us. They tend to avoid in having discussions so it can make us feel inferior. Some countries have solved it by asking for a language proficiency test before visitors can get their visas. On the other hand, the problem in practical activities will not be as big as social things since the appearance of smartphones. For instance, if we just come to a new country, we can be helped by the presence of google translate and its speech-to-text feature. By using this technology, we just need to open our phone, then we can speak in our common way This is a condition that we could not find ten years ago when foreigners still count on a printed dictionary. In summary, it is true that social problems may occur due to language limitations. However, countries and organizations can minimize it by requesting a language requirement document before permission is given. In contrast with that, the obstacle in practical things will not appear as much as the previous one with the help of technological advances. Therefore, I support the idea about social problems are the priority to be solved before coming to a new country.