Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which casuses many health problmes. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourge people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or diagree?

Many food and drinks produced in factories contain elevated levels of sugar, which causes many health issues. To push people to eat less sugary products they should be made more expensive. This essay agrees with this notion because more expensive items are bought less and the money made could be invested back into the health system to treat said health issues. Increasing the price of highly sweetened items will decrease its sale. That is to say, in general, expensive items of any kind are less purchased, this fact should be applied to said issue. This is compounded more when taken into account that sweet products are mostly consumed by the lower class thus making it an expensive item will be highly effective. For example, in 2015 Israel's government increased the levies for sweet products, this change had a great effect on purchases, decreasing them by 25%. Furthermore, the income made by increasing the price could be reinvested in the public health system to deal with the health problems associated with sugar consumption. In other words, High blood pressure,diabetes and many other well-being issues are connected to the over ingestion of sugar creating a burden on public health, thus the profits from the levies paid by them could be used to treat them when needed. For example, In Spain the price of cigarettes is extremely high, this is from the belief that they are unhealthy and in a few years the person who bought them will require treatment and this is how they pay for it. To conclude, In my opinion, an increase in prices should be applied, because the increase in taxes will decrease the number of purchases made and it will better the public health