In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Humans have been searching for comfort throughout the years. Thus it is an intrinsic urge to look for a place that we can call home. In some countries, people tend to prefer owning a home to staying in a rented property. The reason behind this could be related to the sense of security that ownership gives us, and to avoid the dangers of renting as it is not as safe as owning. In this essay I will discuss those points and explain why I would argue that this is a favourable situation. Firstly, owning your own house could give the owner a sense of security, as he is certain that he has a place to sleep at night and raise his children in the future. While renting could save money in the short term, the possibility of breaching the contract and exposing oneself to litigation is always present. This explains the tendency of many to own the land they live on. For instance, many employers save for years to be able to buy themselves a flat once they retire. Secondly, renting can have a couple of drawbacks as the tenant and his family are constantly subjected to the possibility of being evicted anytime by their landlord. Which in terms leads to more and more people opting for buying their own homes, I would say that is not necessarily bad as living in one's owned space gives you the right to adjust and modify such place to accommodate one’s needs, unlike when it is a leash, where it is not acceptable to change anything. In conclusion, the importance of owning a home rather than renting, which is found in some countries, is valid. While ownership provides its occupants with a sense of security and comfort. Conversely, renting subjects the tenants to legal litigation if they breach the contract. This is why I tend to support this situation as I myself do not oppose the idea of owning a home in the future