Although there are a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Thanks to the advancement of technology, there are currently many programmes that can translate sentences to virtually all languages that exist. However, many claims that knowing a language is still beneficial. I completely support this view since I consider that these skills are vital for communication and working opportunities. There are numerous merits of knowing a foreign language. To being with, this knowledge allows a better interaction in real-life settings, since programmes are still not excellent and can make mistakes. There are particular words, such as slang, that applications might confuse or not even know. For example, when on vacation, one could insult someone if the program confuses one word with another. Thus, by knowing exactly what to say, tourists can interact better with locals. Moreover, the more skills one has the better career prospects. By being fluent in another language, apart from one ´s mother tongue, one could apply for various job positions, even outside one ´s country. As a result, there is an expansion of the working opportunities available. For instance, residents of India that are fluent in English can work remotely for companies based in the US. Thus, they will earn much more than if they were working in their own country. In conclusion, I agree with the notion that being able to speak several languages is advantageous, even in the presence of technology that could provide a similar outcome. This is because I believe this aid in an accurate exchange of ideas and allows us to work in a wider range of places in the world.