Research shows that business meetings and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today's virtual world and the compulsory social distancing, especially during the recent world pandemic, have revolutionised the educational and business industry. Although this phenomenon has both positive and negative sides to it, I am convinced that the advantages are far more than its perceived drawbacks. There are several arguments in the favour of virtual meetings and courses. First of all, it has resulted in more flexibility of humans and is compatible with the rat race called life. One can take the example of pre-recorded courses which provide an access for students to learn subjects based on their timetable and pace. For example, a full- time employee who was not able to take any day- time courses now can be enrolled by studying during weekends or in the evenings after work hours. This usually leads to people enhancing their educational qualifications and getting promoted. Apart from that, a businessman is able to attend as many meetings as time allows in a day and use their time more productively. Furthermore, they are able to expand their business connections around the world, which means having more customers and developing local businesses. Adding to this, the online platform has been beneficial for educators and employers either. For them to hold their meetings and classes, they need to spend huge sums of money on renting places and providing equipment. For instance, if there are no workplaces, educational institutes, desks, chairs, and electricity bills, the money that they save will be phenomenal. In addition, it will save them from the hassle of controlling the safety of employees and students and conforming to standards. Moreover, they are not constrained to the space of their places anymore. Educators can have as many students as they can by holding classes on Zoom and employers can hire a lot of people from around the world. Consequently, they can earn more and have better lives. Having said that, there is a dark side. Firstly, employees and trainers usually end up working for longer hours than they are supposed to. The logic behind that is their access to their work equipment at their homes. A good example of that is an engineer,who used to have the access to the business email at work, is now continuously receiving emails and might continue to work even throughout the night, and an English teacher might even hold classes on weekends. Thus, the time they could spend with their families or doing their hobbies would be replaced by working more. To sum up, the advantages of virtual life are greater than its disadvantages. I believe that the flexibility it has brought to humans, the better use of time, and the expansion of human's interactions are more critical than the more time some of them are spending because these disadvantages can easily be addressed by making a balance between jobs and leisure time.