many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In every society, people who commit a crime should be punished to prevent repetitive actions. Although punishment is intended to deter future crimes by showing the consequences, it sometimes leads to undesired outcomes. This essay intends to discuss the causes of this problem and sugest some measures to alleviate the issue. To begin with, there are several reasons why offenders commit further crimes after serving their first sentence. To clarify, there are many reasons why a crime happens in a nation, and it is obvious that most burglaries or other crimes are due to the lack of money for making a living. Hence, if a person remains financially desperate, they are more likely to reoffend. On the other hand, first punishments are not harsh and severe enough to lead a regret and stop the offender. This is because such individuals experienced the wrong deed for the first time and may repeat it. To tackle these issues, several effective steps can be taken, and the main onus is on the government. The authorities should ensure the welfare and well-being of families and bring social fairness to them. This can be obtained by reducing the gap between the wealthy and the needy. While this solution seems easy and achievable, its implementation requires adequate dedication and investment. Moreover, punishment is not the only effective approach; education is needed as well, because a healthy society leads to a safe society with fewer criminals. For example, if a school dedicate their time to the effects of stealing and other wrong deeds, the pupils do their best to do the right thing in their adult age, leading to a safe country. To conclude, however, punishment is a beneficial way to prevent more criminals, but we should not ignore the impact and burden on the governments, so each nation should value its people's needs by addressing the root issues in order to achieve long-term results.